An arraignment is a first appearance in court. Defendants will enter a plea and be notified of their rights. If a plea of No Contest is entered, you will see the judge and if a plea of Not Guilty is entered a trial will be set for a future date.
Show All Answers
In 1997, Oregon passed a law which requires the registered owner of a vehicle to notify the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) of the sale or transfer within 10 days. If you have not notified the DMV of the sale of your vehicle, you need to contact the DMV ASAP at NOTIFY DMV and select the option "Report Your Vehicle Sold."
If you received notice of a citation for a vehicle that was sold, repossessed, or transferred to another person before the citation issue date and you would like the matter reviewed, you MUST submit copy of the notice you received from Municipal Court and the following:
If you had not submitted a valid ‘Notice of Sale or Transfer’ to DMV before your ticket was issued, you will be charged a $25 administration fee.
This court requires personal appearances for certain violations. If your citation states; Must Appear, M.A. or Appear you must appear in court to handle. In the event you wish to seek a reduction in fine, or compliance dismissal in relation to a citation for FAIL TO CARRY PROOF OF INSURANCE OR DRIVING UNINSURED, you must provide proof of insurance at least two business days prior to your court date. If the proof of insurance is not submitted prior to the court date, your appearance date will be moved so the insurance may be verified.
For violations that do not require a formal court appearance and you would like to handle prior to the court date, they may be handled by a Court Clerk during regular business hours.
If you have missed your initial court date a Fail to Appear notice will be sent (to your DMV address of record) with a second assigned court date. A Fail to Appear Fee will also be added to each violation.
If the second court date is missed the presumptive fine of your violation(s) will be imposed along with all FTA fees and a conviction will be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
If the imposed fines/fees are not paid by the due date, your license will be suspended, and the account will go to collections.
Trials are scheduled upon a plea of “Not Guilty,” or as ordered by the court, and are normally scheduled within 4 to 6 weeks of entering your plea. Trials are scheduled based on court and officer(s) availability, with night court being an option that may be assigned.
If you fail to appear at your Trial the court may:
Once a judgement has been entered and fines have been imposed, you have up to 30 days to pay in full with no additional fee or a payment plan may be set-up with a small fee being added. This option allows for smaller payments to be made over a period of time, up to a year.
In the event you are unable to make the payments as ordered it is recommended that you contact the court to discuss options.
When appearing in court, please do not wear shorts, thin strap tops, pajamas or swimsuits. And if you bring a hat or sunglasses, please take them off while you’re in court.
Klamath County Circuit Court (13th Judicial) 541-883-5503
Klamath County Justice Court 541-884-1864
Klamath County Juvenile Department 541-884-4167
Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles 503-945-5000
The DMV offers a hardship permit (or hardship license) which can allow holders to operate vehicles for a limited time while they are in the process of obtaining car insurance or being reinstated. If the judge has recommended that you obtain a hardship license, please fill out the following application and submit directly to the DMV along with their requested payment. The charge is a maximum of $125.
NOTE: Municipal Court clerks cannot help you fill out this application; in addition, completing and submitting the application does not guarantee that the DMV will grant you a hardship license. The DMV will determine if your circumstances qualify for a hardship license and will notify you based on their conclusion.
Municipal Court approves in-person traffic school or online traffic school through NTSI only. NTSI offers several different traffic school training options, so if you would like to sign up for online traffic school, reach out to Municipal Court to help sign you up for the correct course. Call (541) 883-5311 or submit your request online via the "Submit Information" tab on the Municipal Court webpage.